M3.5 Rattles Venus, TX (South of DFW)

Today, 19May2018 at 00:45 hrs UTC (7:45pm CST), a M43.5 earthquake shook parts of the Dallas/ Ft. Worth metroplex.  The epicenter, in Venus, TX, is just South of DFW but the light shaking was felt as far North as Hurst, TX.

TXESP’s EQ1 and Raspberry Shake (HP4.0 Hz filter) seismometers recorded some wave arrivals – predominantly the P, S, Surface, PcP and PcS interpretations (see below).  NOTE: once again a time shift can be seen between the first arrivals on the RS and the EQ1.

Today’s event was approximately 3 polar deg away from station E1TX.

19052018_0049_scrnsht_TXppt

 

 

M3.4 Willow Creek, CA

Today, 16May2018 at 22:01hrs UTC (05:01pm CST), a gentle M3.4 earthquake shook California.

TXESP’s EQ1 and Raspberry Shake (Band pass 4.4 to 9.0 Hz filter) seismometers recorded some wave arrivals. Today’s event was approximately 25 polar deg away from station E1TX.  NOTE the similrities between the two seismograms,

 

16052018_2201_extract2_CA

EQ-1

16052018_2201_extractRS_CA

Raspberry Shake

16052018_2201_map_CA

Epicenter

 

M4.0 Crescent, Oklahoma aftershock

Today, 15May2018 at 13:40 hrs UTC (08:40am CST), a M4.0 earthquake after shock occurred, again, in Crescent, OK.

TXESP’s EQ1 and Raspberry Shake (LP 1.2 Hz filter) seismometers recorded some wave arrivals – predominantly the P, S, Surface, PcP and PcS interpretations (see below).  Today’s event was approximately 6 polar deg away from station E1TX.  NOTE the similrities between the two seismograms; further, review that the 15May2018 seismograms are very similar to the 14May2018 seismograms.

May 15, 2018

15052018_1340_scrnsht_OKppt

May 14, 2018

14052018_0725_scrnsht_OKppt

M4.1 Northern Oklahoma

Early this morning, 14May2018 at 07:25 hrs UTC (2:25am CST), a M4.1 earthquake shook , Crescent, OK.

TXESP’s EQ1 and Raspberry Shake (LP 1.2 Hz filter) seismometers recorded some wave arrivals – predominantly the S, Surface, PcP and PcS interpretations (see below).  Today’s event was approximately 6 polar deg away from station E1TX.  NOTE the time offset between the two seismograms.

14052018_0725_scrnsht_OKppt

Pecos, Texas after shocks

Yesterday, 12May2018 at 21:04 hrs UTC (4:04pm CST), a M2.9 (mb_lg)earthquake shook Pecos, TX.  Overnight, a M2.8 after shock event occurred at 07:45hrs UTC (02:45am CST).  TXESP’s EQ1 Seismograph, again, did NOT detect any wave phases; however, the Raspberry Shake (HP 4.0 Hz filter) recorded some wave arrivals – predominantly the S, Surface, PcP and PcS interpretations (see below).  Today’s event was approximately 7 polar deg away from station E1TX.

13052018_0745_extractRS_TX13052018_0745_map_TX

More Texas Earthquakes

Earlier today, 12May2018 at 21:04 hrs UTC (4:04pm CST), a M2.9 (mb_lg)earthquake shook Pecos, TX.  Several earthquakes have already occurred this year near Pecos.  Similar to the previous events, the focal depth was shallow at 5 kms.  TXESP’s EQ1 Seismograph did NOT detect any wave phases (see below); however, the Raspberry Shake (HP 4.0 Hz filter) recorded some wave arrivals – predominantly the PcP and PcS interpretations.  Today’s event was approximately 9 polar deg away from station E1TX.

12052018_2104_extractRS_TX12052018_2104_extract_TX12052018_2104_map_TX

M5.9 in the North Pacific Ocean, (Eastern Side)

Earlier today, 10May2018 at 18:36 hrs UTC, a M5.9 occurred in the North Pacific Ocean, (Eastern Side).  The focal depth was shallow at 10 kms.  TXESP’s EQ1 Seismograph clear recordings of the P, PP, and PPP wave phases (see below).  Our Raspberry Shake is not clear if it recorded any wave arrivals – the “background noise” is convolved with any event inhibiting a confident interpretation.

10052018_1836_map_Pac10052018_1836_extract2_Pac10052018_1836_extractRS_Pac